Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

Latest Tax Commission News

Decisions added to the website in March

Good morning,

The following decisions were added to the website in the month of March.



If you have any questions or concerns regarding this post, please contact me.

Thank you,

Laurie J. Davies, Legal Administrative Assistant

(208) 334-7530 or email at


Published 03-19-2014 | Permanent link to this news item

Judge orders Weiser resident to file tax returns

BOISE, IDAHO — March 17, 2014 — Third District Court Judge Susan Wiebe has ordered a Weiser woman to file Idaho tax returns for four years in which her reported income totaled more than $150,000. (Read more)

Published 03-17-2014 | Permanent link to this news item

Beat the rush—file your income taxes in March for a faster refund

BOISE, IDAHO — March 13, 2014 —You have until Tuesday, April 15 to file your 2013 individual income tax returns and pay any taxes you owe. But if you’re expecting a refund from Idaho, filing in March will get you your refund faster. (Read more)

Published 03-13-2014 | Permanent link to this news item

Idaho sees increase in tax fraud from identity theft

BOISE, IDAHO — March 10, 2014 — Tax fraud using identity theft is on the rise in Idaho, affecting more people each year. In 2011 the Idaho State Tax Commission worked with five victims of fraud from identity theft. In just two years, that number grew to 170. (Read more)

Published 03-10-2014 | Permanent link to this news item

Use tax payment required on Internet, other untaxed purchases

BOISE, IDAHO — March 6, 2014 — If you’re gathering information to file your 2013 Idaho individual income tax return, don’t forget those untaxed purchases you made last year. If you don’t pay sales tax when you buy merchandise, you owe a 6 percent use tax if the goods are used, given away, stored, or consumed in Idaho. (Read more)

Published 03-06-2014 | Permanent link to this news item

Updated Food, Drink and Lodging brochure available online

We’ve added an updated version of the Food, Drink & Lodging brochure (#16) to our website. The brochure is intended to help restaurants, bars, and those selling lodging accommodations (including rentals of a vacation home) understand the sales tax laws that apply to them.

Published 03-04-2014 | Permanent link to this news item

See prior 6 news items

Return to top of page